Cutting back on the number of updates

Missy

As hard as I try, I simply cannot update the site daily. Last week was a great week, what with four updates and all. But that was only made possible because two of the items, drq's excellent review of Final Fantasy 11 and James' killer video, were contributed by others. When I have to shoulder all of the duties, however, well... I simply cannot write three or four reviews / columns / articles / whatever per week. I just can't do it.

Well, I can, but therein lies the problem.

As some of you know, I'm a writer. I don't just mean I write reviews here and there; I mean, I'm a writer, an author. What even less of you know is that I have been attempting to break into the comic book industry for eight years now. What none of you know is that I came so very close in November of 2003. I mean, I was literally working on a project with an editor at Marvel from November through January, but it was canned after the editor learned that another editor had already finalized (and was about to publish) a very similar project.

While that provided this would-be writer with more hands-on experience than I could have ever hoped, I haven't been that close since. Sure, I have friends in high places at Marvel and have connections with several editors, but that doesn't get one a writing gig, now does it?

One of the reasons I've yet to get that close again is because I do not have the time / drive to write pitches / proposals after working on reviews and whatnot for Earth-2. Simply put, I'm drained creatively once said review (or whatever) has been posted. Even with the rest of the day ahead of me, the words refuse to flow and I simply cannot accomplish the work that I need to in order to secure a job within the comic book industry. Frankly, I need to focus.