G.I. Joe

From Variety:

In one of William Morris' initial moves with regard to the new relationship, it reupped Hasbro's deal with Paramount Pictures to turn "G.I. Joe" into a live-action feature with Lorenzo di Bonaventura to produce. An initial pact had expired.

Fact: I'm considering getting a Cobra tattoo at this very moment. Nothing to do with the article, just nice timing.

• Replies 135
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 4 weeks later...
G.I. JOE is a really interesting and complicated process, because it has two fan bases I’ll say: it has one that exists before the 80’s, and the one that move forward from the 80’s and they are two different fan bases. I’d say on the internet the most vocal fan base would be the post 80’s fan base, but, as a filmmaker, I don’t want to abandon the pre-80’s fans and we’re working very hard to come up with what is similar between the two things I think attitude and values-wise. Particularly values. You know… loyalty, courageousness… That if you had never seen the TV show or read the comics, what would you say? Those ideas do exist in the TV and the comic books. They were definitely drawn on when they were made, so that’s the unity of the two ideas.

The characters are fantastic… Snake-Eyes… they present their own challenges because the character doesn’t talk and is a difficult character to figure out how to register on screen and it’s a fun challenge, but it’s a challenge and like every strong fan base, people are very passionate about one thing or another and what I always try to encourage people to think of the process of germination first and it’s a process of evolution and actually you get to the ideas that really land and we’re somewhere in that germination-evolution transfer right now, so we’re pretty early in the process.