Opinion on These Graphic Novels

annericelover

Since I'm still new at reading comic books and I am tight on money, I would like to know your opinion on these graphic novel:

Batman: Year One

Batman: Year Two Fear the Reaper

Batman: Dark Victory

Batman: Holiday Knights

Batman: The Dark Knight Returns

Batman: A Death in the Family

Superman Vs The Terminator

Superman: The Man of Steel

The Crow

Any Sin City Novel(I do have The Hard Goodbye)

Any Spawn

I would also appreciate suggestions.

OK, I havn't read all these lets see-

Batman: Year One- Seminal retelling of the orgin of The Batman. One of the finest superhero stories ever

Batman: Dark Victory- A great sequel to The Long Halloween, basically more of the same. Don't read this until you've read TLH though.

Batman: The Dark Knight Returns- Alongside Year One this is the Batman story most highly regarded.

Batman: A Death in the Family- Eh. Its 80's batman and good reading if you are looking to better understand Jason Todd and his relationship with Bats, plus theres some great advancement with bats/joker and bats/superman, but its not the best comic for the modern reader. Very 80's.

Any Sin City Novel(I do have The Hard Goodbye)- Generally speaking I'm a Sin City addict. Once I bought one I just read it straight though and got the next and the next. A harsh brutal and uncomprimising series stuffed full of mysteries and sex.

Spawn- I read a big Spawn arc ending last year but in the end it seemed like too cyclical a story. The hero achieved all his dreams, defeated all his foes and at the end everything was straight back to the bleak hell it was at the start, and I got the impression this wasn't the first time this had happened. I can't speak of all of it and I certainly liked it for a time but in the end I didn't feel like I was getting much out of it.

I'm no Frank Millar worshipper but the best three books here are all written by him.

Batman: Year One - I gave it a perfect 10.