Battlestar Galactica movie

KnightWing

Singer Confirmed for BSG

Battlestar Galactica movie a separate reimagining of TV show.

by Orlando Parfitt, IGN UK

UK, August 14, 2009 - Bryan Singer has been confirmed to direct and produce a big-screen version of Battlestar Galactica by trade mag The Hollywood Reporter, days after rumours first emerged on Hitfix.

Universal picked up the movie rights to the hit show this February and with X-Men helmer Singer onboard is fast-tracking the project.

There is no script yet, but apparently the new Galactica movie will be a totally separate reimagining of the BSG concept, and stand completely independent of the Sci Fi series.

http://movies.ign.com/articles/101/1014083p1.html

Bryan Singer was originally the one who was going to make the 2003 re-imagined BSG series before it went to Ron Moore.

Also, this film was originally proposed to be more in line with the original 1978 series (even directed/produced by the same man who created the original series, Glen A. Larson), but it's unclear what this new second re-imagining will be like.

So far we've had the super-cheesy 1978 series and the ultra-grim 2003 series. Something in the middle might be nice to see on the silver screen.

I'm interested to see what Singer might do with the mythos, but for Christ's sake, is there anything in the next few years coming out that's not a reimagining or a remake, theatrically?

Also, Starvos has an interesting point; the Buffy remake might work because it's been what, five years or so since we've had the series on TV in any form? Here, it's going to be released maybe a year or two tops after the series itself has finished, while there are still TV movies (The Plan) and a spin off (Caprica) going on.